BLCKTEC 460T vs TOPDON AD500
You saw the match-up. Here's the scorecard.
Two tablets, both under $200. One reads four systems. The other reads the whole car. Line by line, below.
- Reads every module the car reports. Not just engine, trans, ABS and SRS.
- 12 service functions on the tablet, ABS bleed and DPF included. Theirs has 6.
- Plug in, power on, read. No account or Wi-Fi standing between you and the code.
Specs checked against the manufacturer's product page and Amazon listing on Oct 9, 2026.
The scorecard
Spec sheet against spec sheet
Pulled from both product pages on the same day. Check every line yourself.
| Spec |
BLCKTEC 460T$189.99 $249.99+ free 420X ($60) |
TOPDON AD500$178 listNo bundle |
|---|---|---|
| List price | $189.99 on sale (reg. $249.99) Free 420X handheld scanner in the box, $60 value |
$178 list price at topdon.us No bundle |
| Systems it scans | Full system. Every module the vehicle reports |
4. Engine, transmission, ABS, SRS. That's the list |
| Service functions | 12: Oil, Steering angle, Battery init, Battery reset, EPB, TPMS relearn, Throttle body, ABS bleeding, DPF, Maintenance, Transmission, Transmission fluid |
6: Oil, Throttle, Steering angle, TPMS, Battery (BMS), EPB. No ABS bleed, no DPF, no transmission |
| Plug-in to first code | Power on, plug in, scan. No account, no Wi-Fi needed to read codes |
First-use setup runs language, region, Wi-Fi and a TOPDON account sign-in (their manual) |
| After the code | Definition, severity and readiness monitors on the tablet. Free app adds Verified Fix, parts, repair cost, TSBs and open recalls |
Definition, freeze frame, 4 live data streams. An online feedback form for next steps |
| Vehicles | Every OBD2 vehicle sold in the US and Canada, 1996 and newer. Unlimited vehicles, unlimited scans |
67+ brands, 10,000+ models. Model years not stated; check their coverage tool first |
| Support | US-based, ASE-certified techs. English and Spanish |
Phone line and a web form, "reply within 1-2 business days". Languages not stated |
| Software updates | Free. No subscription + lifetime updates |
Free. No subscription. |
TOPDON AD500 details from the manufacturer's product page, user manual and Amazon listing, checked Oct 9, 2026. 460T details from blcktec.com. Spot something out of date? Email us and we'll fix it. See the 460T spec sheet
or 4 interest-free payments of $47.49 with Shop Pay
30-day risk-free. 1-year warranty. Ships in 2-5 days.
The five differences
What you'll notice the first Saturday you use it
Five places the two tablets split, in the order you'll run into them.
Plug in. Power on. Read. Nothing to log into first.
The 460T goes from the OBD port to a code in the time it takes the screen to light up. No Wi-Fi setup, no account, no password reset in a parking lot with the check-engine light on.
The AD500's own manual walks you through language, region, Wi-Fi and a TOPDON account sign-in before you start. Fine at the kitchen table. Not what you want when the light comes on.
Four systems is a start. Full system is the whole car.
The AD500 reads engine, transmission, ABS and SRS. That's the complete list, straight from their listing. A car built in the last ten years runs dozens of modules beyond those four, and the lights you can't explain usually come from one of them.
The 460T reads every module the vehicle reports. The fault is on your screen instead of "no codes found", and you skip paying a shop to read what you could have read in the driveway.
12 service functions on the tablet. Theirs stops at 6.
Both tablets do oil, steering angle, battery, EPB, TPMS and throttle. The 460T adds the ones that otherwise send you back to the shop: ABS bleeding, DPF, transmission reset, transmission fluid, maintenance reset and a second battery routine.
That's a brake job finished at home because you can bleed the ABS module. A DPF light handled after the sensor swap. A trans service with the counter reset. Nothing to unlock, nothing to pay per function.
Every one of these is a line item on a shop invoice.
Any tablet shows you P0420. This one tells you what to do about it.
On the 460T the code comes with its definition, how serious it is, and your readiness monitors, so you know whether you'll pass smog before you pay for the test.
Link the free app and it keeps going: Verified Fix, the most likely repair confirmed by ASE-certified techs for that code on that vehicle, the parts it takes, what it should cost, plus TSBs and open recalls. The AD500 gives you the definition, freeze frame and live data, then points you to an online feedback form.
More scanner for the money. And a second scanner in the box.
The AD500 lists at $178. The 460T is $189.99 on the Fall Sale and ships with a 420X handheld scanner, a $60 tool on its own, for the glovebox or the second car.
So for $12 more at list you get the whole car instead of four systems, 12 service functions instead of 6, the app, and a second scanner. Then count what the resets save. Three numbers from customers, not from us:
"Used to pay a shop $150 for a DPF reset. Now I do it myself." Brian J., verified buyer
"My shop quoted me $800 to diagnose and reset a DPF warning. I used this scanner to find the issue, replaced a cheap sensor, and ran the DPF reset function right from the tablet." Kevin K., verified buyer
"I ran a full system scan and found a faulty rear wheel speed sensor. I replaced it for $40 and used the scanner to clear the codes and reset the system. I already saved over $500." Ryan K., verified buyer
Any one of these covers the gap between the two tablets several times over.
Exclusive Offer
Everything in the box. One price.
$60 off the tablet, plus the $60 scanner. $120 back in your pocket.
Get the 460T + Free Scanneror 4 interest-free payments of $47.49 with Shop Pay
- 30-day risk-free. Run it on your own car. Not for you? Full refund.
- 1-year warranty. Fails through no fault of yours, we replace it.
- Ships in 2-5 days within the US.
- Works on 1996 and newer vehicles sold in the US and Canada. Check yours
- US-based, ASE-certified support, English or Spanish.
Reviews
Over 10,000 customers. Here's what three of them did with it.
"As someone who works on multiple vehicles, the BLCKTEC 460T has been an incredible upgrade. I've already done oil resets, cleared airbag lights, and even diagnosed a misfire on a friend's car. No subscriptions, no nonsense. Just solid, pro-level diagnostics."
"The 460T paid for itself instantly. My shop quoted me $800 to diagnose and reset a DPF warning. I used this scanner to find the issue, replaced a cheap sensor, and ran the DPF reset function right from the tablet. Saved hundreds and now I use it on every vehicle in my family. It's like having a professional shop in your hands."
"I kept getting an ABS and traction control warning light. I ran a full system scan and found a faulty rear wheel speed sensor. I replaced it for $40 and used the scanner to clear the codes and reset the system. I already saved over $500. This tablet scanner is a game-changer for serious DIYers!"
When the AD500 is enough
Straight answer: one older car, you only ever read and clear an engine light, and you'll never touch the brakes, the battery or the parking brake yourself? A four-system tablet will do the job, and you'll save a few dollars.
Own two cars, buy used, do your own brakes or batteries, or run a diesel? You'll hit the ceiling of a 4-system, 6-function tool inside a year. That ceiling is what the 460T is for.
Questions
Before you decide
Are updates really free?
Yes. No subscription, no renewal, no unlock fee for full-system scanning or any of the 12 functions. For the record, the AD500's updates are free too. Updates are not where these two differ.
The AD500 is cheaper. Why pay more?
At list price the gap is $12, and the 460T comes with a $60 scanner, so you're ahead before you plug in. What the money buys is the whole car instead of four systems, 12 service functions instead of 6, and a fix after the code instead of a definition. The first ABS bleed or DPF reset you do yourself pays the gap back several times.
Does the 460T do bidirectional tests?
No. The 460T is a full-system scanner with 12 built-in service functions: resets, relearns and calibrations. Commanding components directly is a different class of tool at a different price. For reading every module and doing the maintenance work yourself, this is the one.
Will it work on my truck or car?
Any OBD2 vehicle sold in the US or Canada, 1996 and newer: domestic, Asian and European. Check your exact year, make and model on the 460T product page.
What's the free scanner, and what's the catch?
It's the BLCKTEC 420X, our handheld scanner, $59.99 on its own. No catch. Keep it in the glovebox or hand it to whoever drives the other car. It's added to your order with the button above.
I already have the AD500. Now what?
Run the 460T on your car for 30 days. If it doesn't earn its spot on the bench, send it back for a full refund. Simple.
Will it tell me if I'll pass smog?
It shows your readiness monitors, so you know whether the car is ready before you pay for the test.
Do I need the app?
No. The tablet scans, reads codes, shows severity and live data, and runs all 12 functions on its own. The free app adds Verified Fix, parts, repair cost estimates, TSBs and open recalls for your exact vehicle.